Grell!

BEFORE WE START LET ME JUST SAY THERE ARE SOME SPOILERS IN THIS POST. SO IF YOU HAVEN’T YET WATCHED BLACK BUTLER AND ARE GOING TO… I STRONGLY SUGGEST YOU STOP READING THIS POST AND COME BACK AND READ IT ONCE YOU’VE WATCHED IT. I’ve warned you!

GRELL!

Grell oh Grell I was watching Black butler again for the 15th time because why not. When I once again noticed that if I hadn’t known Grell was a guy from reading the manga I would have without doubt thought he was a girl. Finding out that Grell wasn’t a lady was the biggest shock to me. I always thought he was a lady ALWAYS. That might have been because he really, REALLY wants to bang Sebastian, or because he’s very feminine in a girl way not the guy way, or maybe it’s because he looks like a girl to. Honestly it’s all of the above.  He remind me of my best friend in the sense that he’s so feminine. When I was reading the manga in the beginning I honest to god thought and believed that Grell was a lady. Then they go PSYCHE! NOPE HAHAH TRICKED YOU he’s a guy. I was like. I couldn’t believe it I had to re-read that page at least 10 times before it actually sunk in. Even then I was still like. It didn’t help that he refers to himself as a lady which firmly established him in my mind as a girl. I will probably never think of Grell as a guy because he’s been a lady since day 1 plus I think he’d rather I think of him as a lady instead of a guy too. Grell I’m not even sure if I should say himself or herself But Grell is an AWESOME character! I loved him/her! Grell was funny, intense and likes Sebastian just as much as I do! What’s not to love? Plus Grell’s a wicked cool grim reaper with his/her own way of doing things that I love! Grell is definitely one of my favorite characters from Black Butler! The lengths Grell goes through just to get something from Sebastian are so funny! There was one time where the tables were turned and Sebastian needed something from Grell. Boy that was funny the things Sebastian had to do were priceless. I aslso think that Grell’s mega crush on Sebastian is funny to. Every time Grell sees Sebastian it’s like Grell falls in love all over again. Grell is truly one of a kind! But what did you think or Grell? Did you mistake him for a lady like I did?

12 thoughts on “Grell!

  1. I agree. I was pretty shocked too when I learned that Grell was not a girl but a guy. Especially when I was reading the manga, and there were no voices to confirm whether a character is a guy or girl. The anime gave him a bigger role than in the manga, but I’m not complaining. He’s one of the most entertaining characters in the series, and I always enjoy watching him trying to seduce our dear Sebastian. Sebas-chaaaaan~~~~

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Grell is a transgender female. The other characters refer to her as “he” because in the Victorian era people were transphobic butts. She refers to herself as female (“queen of the reapers”) and in her confessional it says she wants a sex change.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

