Kamisama Kiss

Kamisama Kiss, Vol. 1 (Kamisama Hajimemashita #1)
by Julietta Suzuki, Tomo Kimura (Translator)

 Nanami Momozono is alone and homeless after her dad skips town to evade his gambling debts and the debt collectors kick her out of her apartment. So when a man she’s just saved from a dog offers her his home, she jumps at the opportunity. But it turns out that his place is a shrine, and Nanami has unwillingly taken over his job as a local deity! Nanami has all kinds of new responsabilities she doesn’t understand, dangers she’s unaware of, and a cranky ex-familiar who’s… actually pretty hot. What’s a new-fledged godling to do? Summary from Goodreads.

Reads R to L (Japanese Style).

For T audiences

Now I haven’t read this myself yet I still have a list of manga to read that is growing as I type. This manga was recommended to me by one of my best friends. She says and I quote ” This manga is so adorable I want to pinch it’s cheeks” My thoughts on that… Ouch and sounds good. This manga sounds like it’s going to be funny, awesome, cute, and overall just a good time. Nanami sounds like a pretty strong character if she has to put up with all that and become a deity at the same time. What kind of dad skips town and leaves his daughter behind because of all the debts he is trying to avoid! That is not fair and not the right thing to do because now his debts go to Nanami! At least I think they do. Not to mention being homeless too! I really want to see how this all works out for Nanami. I want to know if her relationship with her dad gets better or worse, how being homeless for a bit goes, becoming a deity I can hear the disasters all ready, an ex-familiar who is pretty hot I can see the arguments already. Interested yet because I am. I can’t wait to read this manga! But it’s going to have to wait until I finish that list, it’s time to get some tea, grab my manga volumes, sit on my couch and start reading.

20 thoughts on “Kamisama Kiss

  1. OMG GET ON THIS MANGA NOW!!!! Lol sorry but yes, your friend is right. I actually was starting to move away from shoujo because it was starting to get dull, cliche and annoying. Now I have all 18 volumes (there are still more coming) the first anime season, art books from Japan, etc. I truly love this series and the main character actually speaks her mind! The romance buds slowly but don’t worry!!! NO SPOILERS: Volume 4 is when sparks happen, but Tomoe has yet to reciprocate and the manga doesn’t just deal with the romantic plot. It talks about maturing and growing as a person, having different kinds of love for others, it doesn’t glorify sexual harrassment, and there’s just so much WIN this manga has that I honestly can’t begin to do it justice. I really hope you go out and buy a copy because shoujo deserves all the support it can get, and this is truly worth the money! If it can get me back into shoujo and fangirling than I think it did a fantastic job. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

